U.S. Department of Justice

The Department of Justice is the world's largest law office and the chief enforcer of federal laws. It's purpose is to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.

The Department of Justice was empowered to handle all criminal prosecutions and civil suits in which the United States had an interest. To assist the Attorney General, the 1870 Act also created the Office of the Solicitor General, who represents the interests of the United States before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Organization, Mission and Functions

U.S. Department of Justice

Department of Justice Overview

Office of the Attorney General

Office of the Deputy Attorney General

Office of the Associate Attorney General

Office of the Solicitor General

Antitrust Division

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Civil Division

Civil Rights Division

Community Relations Service

Criminal Division

Drug Enforcement Administration

Environment and Natural Resources Division

Executive Office for Immigration Review

Executive Office for Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Forces

Executive Office for United States Attorneys

Executive Office for United States Trustees

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Federal Bureau of Prisons

Foreign Claims Settlement Commission

INTERPOL Washington - United States National Central Bureau

Justice Management Division

National Security Division

Office of Community Oriented Policing Services

Office of Information Policy

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Legal Counsel

Office of Legal Policy

Office of Legislative Affairs

Office of Professional Responsibility

Office of Public Affairs

Office of Tribal Justice

Office of the Inspector General

Office of the Pardon Attorney

Office of Special Counsel for Unfair Immigration-Related Employment Practices

Office on Violence Against Women

Professional Responsibility Advisory Office

Tax Division

United States Marshals Service

United States Parole Commission

Report a Crime

Contact Us
Copyright 2018